Hi everyone. I know you missed me. I’ve missed you! I’m almost done with my first quarter of grad school, and I thought now that I’ve finished my homework for the weekend I’d write a few posts.

Tonight’s beer is from the Lancaster Brewing Company in (you guessed it) Lancaster, PA. About six weeks ago (which was, admittedly, a bit earlier for a stout) I tried their lovely Milk Stout.

Will you just look at the head and color on that? Beautiful.


Style: Milk/Sweet Stout. Characterized by being much less bitter than traditional stouts, but still thick and creamy. Definitely not a session beer.

Overall Impression:This was a great beer. It was an excellent balance of sweet and roasted flavor, with a creamy, full body, but not too thick. I’m glad I didn’t wait any longer to try this–go pick some up. Now.

Appearance: Beautiful dark brown color, lovely head retention.

Smell: Espresso and malt aroma. Perfect for a stout. The sweetness doesn’t really come through until you taste the beer.

Taste: Roasted espresso, decent bitterness, but with that overlying sweetness one expects from a milk stout.

Mouthfeel: Thick and creamy

Try this if you like: Young’s Double Chocolate Stout, Left Hand Milk Stout, Dark Horse Too Cream Stout,

4 stars

http://beeradvocate.com/beer/profile/743/3960

