I normally don’t drink IPAs because I’m not a fan of the strong bitterness. That’s why you don’t see too many of them on this blog-I find it difficult to review them objectively. But I gave it a shot with this one from War Horse Brewing Company (soon to be famous.) I’ve also reviewed their Riesling Ale and their American Black Lager.

Style: American India Pale Ale (IPA). Pale golden to reddish amber color. High bitterness and high citrate flavor. Usually balanced by a malty background.

Overall Impression: A pretty decent IPA. Nothing special but it gets the job done.  This went really well with the Indian food I was eating at the time.

Appearance: Clear with a pale brown color. Decent head retention.

Smell: Mostly the hops come through in the aroma.

Taste: Excellent bitterness. Everything you’d expect from an IPA. And like many IPAs, you don’t taste much beyond the hops.

Mouthfeel: Clean and crisp.

Try this if you like: Sierra Nevada Celebration Ale, Bell’s Two Hearted Ale, Dogfish Head 60 Minute IPA, HopDevil Ale, Heavy Seas Loose Cannon

